Individual Strategies -
Decades of Experience Handling Florida
Personal Injury and Wrongful Death Claims
When you put in the hours of work, it is only reasonable to expect to be compensated accordingly. If your employer fails to pay you for the time you have put in, that is essentially stealing from you. Don’t let your boss steal from you!
At Whittel & Melton, our Florida Wage & Overtime Lawyers are dedicated to helping people who’s employers take advantage of them. If your were not paid what you are owed for any reason, let us help you. We will do everything in our power to get you the money you are entitled to—call us at 866-608-5529 or contact us online.
Unpaid Wages: When you are not paid the hourly or salary rate that was agreed upon by you and your employer, this is not only unacceptable, but also illegal. You have rights and could potentially file a legal claim for the money your employer owes you.
Misclassification of Employment Status: The trend for many employers is to classify employees as salaried to avoid paying overtime, which is concerning and again, illegal. If you are an hourly employee being classified as a salaried worker, we can help to make sure you are being compensated fairly according to the law.
Working Off the Clock: You employer should never ask you to perform a work-related duty off the clock. If you are clocked out or on a break, you are not obligated to complete any work tasks. However, if you have been forced to work while off the clock, we can help you obtain compensation for your unpaid work.
Putting in your time at work is how you earn your living. With that said, employees working more than 40 hours in a week may be eligible for overtime pay in the state of Florida. Employers are legally obligated to pay time and a half to all eligible employees working over 40 hours in a week. Despite being legally obligated, it is not unheard of for employers to not pay workers overtime for any hours worked over 40 in a week.
Typically, a workweek is classified a seven-day period. Under overtime law, a day is a 24-hour period that starts at a time of the employer’s choosing. The first minute worked beyond 40 hours in a workweek is when an employee eligible to receive overtime pay receives time and a half for the amount of time worked until the end of that specific workweek.
To calculate your overtime pay, just multiply your regular hourly rate of pay times 1.5. Overtime pay is not optional, so if your employer tells you that, you should seek legal advice right away. Employers are required to pay overtime to all eligible workers.
Believe it or not, some employers will stoop to any means necessary to keep from paying their employees overtime. One common practice employers do is shifting hours between workweeks. They do this my modifying when your workweek begins or ends. If you notice this happening on your pay stubs, you need to contact us right away as you could have grounds for an overtime compensation lawsuit. Another common tactic we see with employers trying to steal overtime is when they deduct time taken for breaks while on the job. Any break under 30 minutes cannot be legally be taken from your wages and must be counted towards your hours worked in a workweek.
There are many other types of wage disputes that we can assist with. We encourage you to stand up for your rights and not let your employer take unfair advantage of you. A Florida Wage Dispute Lawyer at Whittel & Melton can protect your rights and help get you the compensation you are owed.
If you have a question about laws in the workplace or anything in regards to unpaid wages or overtime, please call us today at 866-608-5529 or contact us online for a free case evaluation. We want to help you file a claim for all unpaid wages, and it is our top priority to help you recover monetary compensation for all of your hard work.