Individual Strategies -
Decades of Experience Handling Florida
Personal Injury and Wrongful Death Claims
August 4, 2011
A 21-year-old Land O’Lakes man was charged with DUI and using a firearm under the influence of a controlled substance Sunday around 3 a.m. What made this arrest so newsworthy was it came just one month after the man was involved in a collision last month where a 19-year-old road crew worker was killed.
According to a Pasco County Sheriff’s Office report, the man was pulled over Sunday by authorities for allegedly driving about 20 mph over the speed limit. The arresting officer supposedly noted the man was slurring his words and had bloodshot, dilated eyes.
The man allegedly had a loaded rifle sitting between the driver’s seat and the center console. It was unclear from reports whether or not the driver’s alleged actions that night had a relationship to any emotional consequences from the fatal accident which occurred just one month prior.
The man supposedly did not perform up to standards during a field sobriety test and was transported to Land O’Lakes jail where he was later released on his own recognizance.
The fatal crash involving the man that occurred on June 14 is still under investigation by the Florida Highway Patrol. The man’s truck allegedly crushed a warning sign, smashed into another truck and killed a road crew worker.
Law enforcement officials are awaiting toxicology reports that should confirm whether or not alcohol contributed to the wreck.
If you have been arrested for a DUI you could face a number of consequences that require a solid defense, even if it is your first offense. Your license could be suspended for a lengthy period of time as well as possible fines, jail time and a highly probable rise in your auto insurance rates. A basic DUI is considered a misdemeanor, but can easily jump up to felony status when a DUI-related accident causes serious bodily harm or death or if you have multiple DUI convictions.
While a DUI conviction can carry serious ramifications, it is important to note that a skilled Florida DUI Defense Attorney can aggressively fight the charges brought against you and work towards a positive outcome for your case. At Whittel & Melton, our attorneys can ask the initial hard-hitting questions that can shape a strong DUI defense strategy. Did the arresting officer follow proper procedure during the arrest and booking? Did the arresting officer exercise probable cause to pull you over? If a breath test was performed, was the officer trained properly on how to use the device? Was the Breathalyzer operating precisely when used?
It is very important to act fast following your arrest for DUI. Generally, within 10 days of arrest, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended for at least six months or seized by police. Moreover, you are only allotted 10 days from the date of your arrest to contest the suspension and file an application to lift the suspension of your Florida driver’s license.
If you have been charged with DUI in Pasco County or anywhere in the state of Florida, contact the Florida DUI Lawyers at the Law Offices of Whittel & Melton, LLC online or reach us at our Pasco County office in New Port Richey at 727-847-2299 or call us toll-free at 1-866-608-5LAW (5529).