Individual Strategies -
Decades of Experience Handling Florida
Personal Injury and Wrongful Death Claims
January 17, 2013
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reports that binge drinking is such a serious problem for girls and women that often fails to receive the attention it deserves.
According to the CDC’s Vital Signs report, nearly 1 in 8 women and 1 in 5 high school girls binge drink. Among women, binge drinking is defined as consuming four or more alcoholic beverages, such as beer, wine or liquor, on an occasion.
The CDC’s study confirmed that binge drinking is most popular among women ages 18-34 and high school girls. It was also found to be most prevalent in women living in households with annual incomes of $75,000 or higher.
The CDC warns women that binge drinking places them at higher risk for breast cancer, sexually transmitted diseases, heart disease and unintended pregnancy. Binge drinking during pregnancy can lead to fetal alcohol spectrum disorders and sudden infant death syndrome.
The study also highlighted that binge drinking affects women differently than men, since women metabolize alcohol differently than boys and men.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, those that binge drink are 14 times more likely than non-binge drinkers to drive while intoxicated. This can not only result in an arrest for DUI, but can lead to a fatal traffic accident. A motorist that is operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol poses a serious threat not only to themselves, but to others sharing the roadway. Unfortunate accidents can happen in a matter of seconds, causing others to suffer catastrophic injuries and possibly death.
Remember, even if you do not regularly consume alcohol, you can still be arrested for DUI. A DUI arrest can happen to anyone. While it may be hard to believe, very few people who are arrested for DUI are so drunk that they can barely stand or speak coherently. Most DUI arrests involve people who are just over the legal limit of .08 and made the mistake of driving home.
The penalties attached to a DUI are quite severe in Florida. A first-time DUI conviction where a driver has a BAC of .08 may result in a fine between $500 and $1,000 and up to six months in county jail. A first-time DUI offense, where a driver’s BAC is .20 or higher, could lead to nine months behind bars and a fine between $1,000 and $2,000.
If you are arrested for DUI you should contact a DUI attorney to discuss your defense options right away. Prosecutors in the state of Florida take DUI charges quite seriously, and often push for maximum penalties even if this is your first offense. A Florida DUI Defense Attorney at Whittel & Melton can make sure you understand the charges against you and help you obtain a favorable outcome in your case. Contact us today online or call us statewide and toll-free at 866-608-5529.