Marion County DUI Defense Lawyer :: Woman Charged with DUI After Blowing Five Times the Legal Limit
September 20, 2013
A 33-year-old north Florida woman was arrested for DUI Wednesday after she allegedly ran her car off the road, according to the Marion County Sheriff’s Office.
The woman apparently admitted to police that she had been drinking, but felt fine enough to drive.
Records show that she failed a chemical test that later revealed she had a blood alcohol content of 0.41 percent, five times higher than Florida’s limit of 0.08 percent.
The woman, who has never been arrested before for drinking and driving, allegedly told a deputy she had drank four cans of 8 percent alcohol beer before she drove her car off East Highway 40 into some bushes around 11 p.m.
Police claim the woman works as a dental hygienist and is “considered an alcoholic.” She apparently refused medical attention.
The arrest report indicates the woman was unsteady on her feet and appeared disoriented. She apparently asked police several times if she would be going to jail for DUI.
The woman was charged with DUI and had to be medically cleared by the Munroe Regional Medical Center before the Marion County Jail would book her, according to records.
She was released on bail later Thursday morning.
If you are stopped by an officer who suspects you have been drinking, it is highly likely that you will be asked to perform a field sobriety test and ultimately a breath test should you not pass the field sobriety test according to their standards. In general, once an officer stops your vehicle and asks you to perform a field sobriety test, they have already concluded that you are impaired and will probably not give you a passing score on a field sobriety exam. Should you blow .08 or over on the breathalyzer machine, the officer will charge you with driving under the influence.
Understand that if you refuse to take the test or blow a .08 or over, your driver’s license will be administratively suspended by the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles. This suspension is completely separate from the court and must be contested through an administrative hearing. Be aware that you must request this hearing within 10 days of your arrest or it is waived. Upon your arrest for DUI in Ocala, Dunnellon, Belleview or the surrounding area, it is absolutely imperative to retain a Marion County DUI Defense Lawyer at Whittel & Melton to protect your rights throughout the duration of your case.
If you or someone you know has been charged with DUI, you must act fast and get the legal help you need and deserve. Time is of the essence in DUI cases, so do not delay. Even if you submitted to a breath test and blew over the legal limit, do not think your case is hopeless and give up. A Marion County DUI Defense Attorney at Whittel & Melton can aggressively fight on your behalf to help you avoid the ramifications of a conviction. To find out how we can help you, please contact us today online or call 352-369-5334 for a free consultation. You can reach us anytime, day or night, by dialing us statewide and toll-free at 866-608-5529.